Cockatrice Books

Y diawl a’m llaw chwith


News: 29th September 2022

Cockatrice Books is delighted to announce the first of three publications for the autumn and winter. Any Kind of Broken Man, the collected stories of Roger Granelli, is now available in paperback format from Amazon and as an EPUB-format ebook from Kobo. The ebook is DRM-free, and can be stored on any device or format of your choosing. A version for Kindle will appear on Amazon in the coming days.

Any Kind of Broken Man: Collected Stories by Roger Granelli

Cover image of Any Kind of Broken ManA veteran of the war with Japan confronts the Japanese factory which has revivified his valley. An ageing Navajo on the edge of the desert meets his doctor son’s white bride. A young jazz musician walks into a club with a pistol in his pocket, and a young criminal from the valleys who is suspected of murder finds peace of mind on a Scottish beach.

Grounded in the post-industrial communities of Wales, yet encompassing Spain, Malaysia and the Florida Keys, this collection spans the career of a prominent novelist from the early 1990s to the present day. Drug dealers, labourers, invalids and war criminals confront the start of a new century, the death of old certainties and old ways of life, the comforting weight of bitterness and the fearful beginnings of hope.

‘Roger Granelli’s books are incredibly hard to put down.’

The Big Issue

‘His characters breathe, make you care. One day the people that count will realise that Roger Granelli is… the best un-sung novelist in Wales.’

Phil Rickman

‘Granelli has a gift for making characters emerge, for letting actions speak for themselves.’

New Welsh Review

ISBN: 978-1912368327. Format: Paperback, 127×203mm. 248pp. Price: £9.99. DRM-free EPUB Ebook. Price: £2.49


Bjørnstjerne Bjørnson, O. M. Edwards, Caradoc Evans, Vsevolod Garshin, Gildas, J. A. Giles, Geraint Goodwin, Roger Granelli, James Harries, Sivert and Elizabeth Hjerleide, T. Gwynn Jones, Richard Hughes Williams, Nigel Jarrett, T. J. Llewelyn Pritchard, J. E. Lloyd, Morgan Llwyd, Rob Mimpriss (editor), George Moore, Nennius, Daniel Owen, Elias Owen, A. L. Reynolds, Phil Rickman, Wirt Sikes, Rowland Smith, Claud Vivian, E. L. Voynich, Leanne Wood, Ellis Wynne, Owen Wynne Jones.

© 2023 Cockatrice Books

Cockatrice Books Logo